Organizational structure

The Beckman Institute's organizational structure


Organizational structure


Jeffrey S. Moore's directory photo.

Jeffrey S. Moore Director of the Beckman Institute, Professor

Jeff Moore is the director of the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology. He reports to Susan Martinis, the vice chancellor for research and innovation.

Reporting to the director

Patty Jones's directory photo.

Patty Jones Associate Director for Research

The associate director for research oversees Beckman's research enterprise and shared research facilities. The directors of the Biomedical Imaging Center, Microscopy Suite, and Visualization Lab report to her.

Associate Director for Administration

The Beckman Institute is currently searching for an associate director of administration.

The associate director for administration oversees these groups:


Meg Dickinson's directory photo.

Meg Dickinson Director of Communications

Stacy  Olson's directory photo.

Stacy Olson Administrative Assistant

Research theme leaders


Wawrzyniec Dobrucki's directory photo.

Wawrzyniec Dobrucki Associate Professor

Mariana Kersh's directory photo.

Mariana Kersh Associate Professor

Aron K. Barbey's directory photo.

Aron K. Barbey Professor

Gabriele Gratton's directory photo.

Gabriele Gratton Professor

Ying Diao's directory photo.

Ying Diao Associate Professor

Charles Schroeder's directory photo.

Charles Schroeder Professor


Beckman Institute Executive Committee

BIXC is comprised of the research theme co-chairs, as well as a few other faculty members. BIXC members, along with the associate directors and the director of communication, meet with the director every two weeks to discuss matters of interest.

  • Aron Barbey (Term: January 2021 to December 2025)
  • Diane Beck (Term: August 2018 to August 2023)
  • Rohit Bhargava (Term: August 2021 to August 2026)
  • Marni Boppart (Term: March 2021 to March 2026)
  • Qian Chen (Term: March 2021 to March 2026)
  • Ying Diao (Term: March 2021 to March 2026)
  • Wawrzyniec Dobrucki (Term: February 2019 to August 2023)
  • Gabriele Gratton (Term: January 2022 to December 2026)
  • Fatima Husain (Term: May 2022 to August 2026)
  • Mariana Kersh (Term: March 2021 to March 2026)
  • Deana McDonagh (Term: August 2018 to August 2023)
  • Sepideh Sadaghiani (Term: August 2021 to August 2026)
  • Susan Schantz (Term: August 2017 to August 2022)
  • Charles Schroeder (Term: June 2018 to August 2023)
  • Pengfei Song (Term: May 2022 to August 2026)
  • Brad Sutton (Term: August 2017 to August 2022)
  • Jonathan Sweedler (Term: August 2017 to August 2022)

Program Advisory Committee

The director invites faculty members to join the Program Advisory Committee. The primary duties of this committee are to review the applications for the Beckman Institute Postdoctoral Fellows Program and the Beckman Institute Graduate and Undergraduate Fellows Programs.

Members are:

  • Aron Barbey
  • Qian Chen
  • Chris Evans
  • Randy Ewoldt
  • Mark Hasegawa-Johnson
  • Michael Insana
  • Mariana Kersh
  • Fan Lam
  • Nancy McElwain
  • Justin Rhodes
  • Ryan Shosted 
  • Charles Sing
  • Pengfei Song

Coordinating Committee

The Coordinating Committee consists of the executive officers of units relevant to the Beckman Institute who serve as an advisory body to the director on issues and activities involved in interdisciplinary research on campus. Members of the Coordinating Committee are:

  • Jonathan Freund, aerospace engineering
  • Rodney Johnson, animal sciences
  • Brenda M. Farnell, anthropology
  • Alan Mette, art and design
  • Satish Nair, biochemistry
  • Mark Anastasio, bioengineering
  • King Li, Carle Illinois College of Medicine
  • Paul Kenis, chemical and biomolecular engineering
  • Catherine Murphy, chemistry
  • Janet Jokela, College of Medicine
  • Uwe Rudolph, comparative biosciences
  • Nancy Amato, computer science
  • Klara Nahrstedt, Coordinated Science Lab
  • Chilin Shih, East Asian languages and cultures
  • Kiel Christianson, educational psychology
  • Bruce Hajek, electrical and computer engineering
  • Andy Suarez, evolution, ecology, and behavior
  • Nicki Engeseth, food science and human nutrition
  • Yurii Vlasov, Holonyak Micro & Nanotechnology Laboratory
  • Jeffrey Shamma, industrial and enterprise systems engineering
  • Kim Graber, kinesiology and community health
  • Hye Suk "James" Yoon, linguistics
  • Nancy Sottos, materials science and engineering
  • Jeremy Tyson, mathematics
  • Anthony Jacobi, mechanical science and engineering
  • Claudio Grosman, molecular & integrative physiology
  • Rizwan Uddin, nuclear, plasma, and radiological engineering
  • Matthias Grosse Perdekamp, physics
  • Nicole Allen, psychology
  • Jonathan Sweedler, School of Chemical Sciences
  • Milan Bagchi, School of Molecular & Cellular Biology
  • Pamela Hadley, speech and hearing science
  • Bo Li, statistics
  • Uretz Oliphant, surgery
  • Paul Braun, Materials Research Lab