Status Full-time Faculty

Home Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Phone 300-9763


Address 4041 Beckman Institute, 405 North Mathews Avenue

  • Biography

    Dr. Pengfei Song is an Assistant Professor of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology, Carle Illinois College of Medicine, and the Department of Bioengineering at Illinois. He was previously an Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Radiology, and an Associate Consultant in the Department of Radiology at Mayo Clinic. Dr. Song gained his PhD degree in Biomedical Engineering from Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science, Rochester, Minnesota, in 2014. He continued his postdoctoral research at Mayo Clinic under the support of the American Heart Association postdoctoral fellowship and the NIH K99/R00 Pathway to Independence Award. His research interests focus on ultrafast ultrasound imaging, ultrasound microvessel imaging and ultrasound shear wave elastography. Dr. Song has published over 40 peer-reviewed journal papers on topics of ultrasound shear wave elastography, ultrafast microvessel imaging, and super-resolution microvessel imaging. Dr. Song holds several patents that have been licensed and commercialized by major ultrasound companies, installed on top-tier ultrasound scanners and used worldwide to benefit patients. Dr. Song is the recipient of the Edward C. Kendall Alumni Award for Meritorious Research, and an awardee of the NIH K99/R00 Pathway to Independence Award.

  • Honors
    • Edward C. Kendall Alumni Award for Meritorious Research, Mayo Clinic Alumni Association, Rochester, MN, 2018.
    • Introduction to Academic Radiology for Scientists (ITARSc) Program, Radiological Society of North America (RSNA), Chicago, IL, 2017.
    • NIH/NCI K99/R00 Pathway to Independence Award, 2017-2022.
    • American Heart Association postdoctoral fellowship, 2014-2016.
    • IEEE UFFC Society 2012 Student Paper Competition Award, IEEE IUS, Dresden, Germany, 2012.
    • Dean’s Fellowship, Mayo Graduate School, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science, 2010-2012.