Organizational Chart

The 2019 Beckman Institute org chart.


Beckman Institute Executive Committee (BIXC)

The Beckman Institute Executive Committee (BIXC) is comprised of the three main research theme co-chairs as well as a few other faculty members. BIXC members, along with the associate directors and the director of communication, meet with the director every two weeks to discuss matters of interest.

Members of the BIXC are:

  • Narayana Aluru
  • Peter Beak
  • Diane Beck
  • Rohit Bhargava
  • Stephen Boppart
  • Wawrzyniec Dobrucki
  • Monica Fabiani
  • Kara Federmeier
  • Zhi-Pei Liang
  • Deana McDonagh
  • Susan Schantz
  • Charles Schroeder
  • Elizabeth Stine-Morrow
  • Brad Sutton
  • Jonathan Sweedler

Program Advisory Committee

Faculty members are invited by the director to join the Program Advisory Committee. The primary duties of this committee are to review the applications for the Beckman Institute Postdoctoral Fellows Program and the Beckman Institute Graduate and Undergraduate Fellows Programs.

Members of the Program Advisory Committee are:

  • Monica Fabiani
  • Sepideh Friberg
  • Roxana Girju
  • Fatima Husain
  • Dan Llano
  • Joaquin Rodriguez-Lopez
  • Yang Zhang
  • Jefferson Chan
  • Wawrzyniec Dobrucki
  • Liang Gao
  • Michael Oelze
  • Dipanjan Pan

Coordinating Committee

The Coordinating Committee consists of the executive officers of units relevant to the Beckman Institute who serve as an advisory body to the director on issues and activities involved in interdisciplinary research on campus. The director issues personal invitations to those heads or unit executive officers to join the Coordinating Committee.

Members of the Coordinating Committee are:

  • Greg Elliott, aerospace engineering
  • Andy Suarez, animal biology
  • Rodney Johnson, animal sciences
  • Brenda M. Farnell, anthropology
  • Alan Mette, art and design
  • Mike Insana, bioengineering
  • King Li, Carle Illinois College of Medicine
  • Paul Kenis, chemical and biomolecular engineering
  • Martin Gruebele, chemistry
  • Janet Jokela, College of Medicine
  • Uwe Rudolph, comparative biosciences
  • Nancy Amato, computer science
  • Klara Nahrstedt, Coordinated Science Lab
  • Robert Tierney, East Asian languages and cultures
  • Dan Morrow, educational psychology
  • Wen-mei Hwu, electrical and computer engineering
  • Nicki Engeseth, food science and human nutrition
  • Rakesh Nagi, industrial and enterprise systems engineering
  • Amy Woods, kinesiology and community health
  • Hye Suk "James" Yoon, linguistics
  • Pascal Bellon, materials science and engineering
  • Jeremy Tyson, mathematics
  • Anthony Jacobi, mechanical science and engineering
  • Brian Cunningham, Micro & Nanotechnology Laboratory
  • Claudio Grosman, molecular & integrative physiology
  • Rizwan Uddin, nuclear, plasma, and radiological engineering
  • Matthias Grosse Perdekamp, physics
  • Wendy Heller, psychology
  • Jonathan Sweedler, School of Chemical Sciences
  • Milan Bagchi, School of Molecular & Cellular Biology, biochemistry
  • Karen Kirk, speech and hearing science
  • Doug Simpson, statistics
  • Uretz Oliphant, surgery